AAG Transportation Geography Specialty Group

The mission of the Transportation Geography Specialty Group of the American Association of Geographers is to encourage and facilitate interactions among individuals who are interested in research, practice, and education of transportation-related topics.

All members of the AAG with an interest in transportation and transportation-related issues are encouraged to join the Transportation Geography Specialty Group. Dues are $7 in addition to the normal AAG dues. Students pay less! Further information and forms are available on the AAG home page and the AAG Knowledge Community.

2019 AAG Annual Meeting: Washington, DC

The Transportation Geography Specialty Group sponsored or co-sponsored 24 sessions at the American Association of Geographers Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, April 3-7, 2019. The group's business meeting was held on Friday, April 5, 2019.

The 2019 Fleming lecture was given Thursday, April 4, 2019 in the Washington 4 room on the Exhibition Level of the Marriott. It featured last year's Ullman award winner, Tim Schwanen from the University of Oxford, speaking on Geographies of transport in the new climatic regime.

Michael Minn, Jean-Paul Rodrigue
The 2019 Edward L. Ullman Award was given to Jean-Paul Rodrique
Irene Casas, Kyle Sorlie Titlow
The 2019 TGSG Master's Thesis Award was given to Kyle Sorlie Titlow
Irene Casas, Rafael Pereira
The 2019 TGSG PhD Dissertation Award was given to Rafael Pereira
Irene Casas, Mischa Young
A 2019 TGSG Student Travel Award was given to Mischa Young, University of Toronto
Irene Casas, Jinhyung Lee
A 2019 TGSG Student Travel Award was given to Jinhyung Lee, The Ohio State University

Past meetings and award winners...

The Journal of Transport Geography

The Journal of Transport Geography is a leading interdisciplinary journal focusing on the geographical dimensions of transport, travel and mobility. It is international in its outlook, and welcomes both conceptual papers and theoretically-informed, empirically-oriented contributions on the movement of people, goods and/or information by any mode and at every geographical scale.

Articles and viewpoints for the Journal of Transport Geography may be submitted through the Elsevier Website.

TGSG Officers


Bradley Lane - The University of Kansas


Isabelle Nilsson - University of North Carolina, Charlotte

Board Members

Yujie Hu - University of South Florida
Scott Kelley - University of Nevada, Reno
Kevin Kane - University of California, Irvine
Rafael Pereira - Institute for Applied Economic Research (Ipea) Brazil

Student Board Members

Jessica Villena-Sánchez - University of Denver
Elina Sukaryavichute - University of North Carolina, Charlotte


Michael Minn - Farmingdale State College